menu

Company

Get to know us.

Executive Board

Vincent Lebet
Vincent Lebet
CEO
vincent.lebet@fortisa.ch
Yvonne Gast
Yvonne Gast
CFO & Human Resources
yvonne.gast@fortisa.ch
Andrea Vesti
Andrea Vesti
Sales Director
andrea.vesti@fortisa.ch
Marc Schläppi
Marc Schläppi
Production & Product Development Director
marc.schlaeppi@fortisa.ch

Team

Elodie Ntsama
Elodie Ntsama
Head of Quality and Sustainability
elodie.ntsama@fortisa.ch
Daniel Hemmann
Daniel Hemmann
Head of Supply Chain
daniel.hemmann@fortisa.ch
Thomas Mesmer
Thomas Mesmer
Planning & Sanitation
thomas.mesmer@fortisa.ch
Samuel Stirnemann
Samuel Stirnemann
Engineering & Maintenance
samuel.stirnemann@fortisa.ch
Yvonne Hersperger
Yvonne Hersperger
Human Resources
yvonne.hersperger@fortisa.ch
Michelle Linder
Michelle Linder
Leader Inside Sales
michelle.linder@fortisa.ch
Patrick Zbinden
Patrick Zbinden
Inside Sales
patrick.zbinden@fortisa.ch
Karin Rüfenacht
Karin Rüfenacht
Inside Sales
karin.ruefenacht@fortisa.ch

30 Years McDonald's with Fortisa


Get to know us…

Fortisa AG specializes in the industrial production of high-quality small bread and works exactly according to the highest quality and hygiene standards.

Fortisa AG specializes in the industrial production of high-quality small bread and works exactly according to the highest quality and hygiene standards.

Our story

  • 1984

    • The start of hamburger bun production for McDonald’s in Switzerland by Bäckerei Mischke & Moser in Baden.

  • 1991

    • Establishment of Fortisa AG in Zuchwil and the handover of industrial production of hamburger buns, hot dogs and small bread (soft rolls).

  • 2001

    • The HLS Company (a McDonald’s distribution partner) vacates the factory building and constructs a new facility in Oensingen. During the same year, quality management becomes certified according to ISO 9001.

  • 2003

    • Grains are now sourced 100% from Swiss agriculture (IP-SUISSE).

  • 2004

    • Fortisa drops the location decision for Zuchwil and rented the entire property. During this time, the production facilities are further expanded.

  • 2005

    • We win Coop as our customers and as the first foreign client from Italy. Ongoing investments are made in environmental, quality and hygiene areas. Capacity expands from 18,000 to 24,000 buns per hour.

  • 2006

    • In addition to soft rolls, infrastructure is expanded to accommodate the production of hard rolls (ciabattas, sandwich bread, small bread). The shareholder base is expanded to include CEO Ulrich von Känel, among others.

  • 2009

    • The world’s first system to use the waste heat oven.

  • 2010

    • Introduction of the whole wheat hamburger. Capacity expanded from 24,000 to 30,000 buns per hour.

  • 2011

    • Commissioning of a new, modern packaging machine for household products.

  • 2012

    • Guido Moser is elected as new chairman of the Board of Directors.

  • 2013

    • Vincent Lebet joins Fortisa as new CEO. 

  • 2014

    • Launch of the innovation concept INNOBUN. Under this brand Fortisa takes a clear positionning as an innovation and agile Partner for new product development in the area of small breads.

  • 2015

    • New lamination line for hardrolls, Ciabatta's & Co. We name these products SOLOPANE.

  • 2016

    • 25th Anniversary Fortisa AG

  • 2017

    • "Go" for the upgrade and extension Project Fortisa 2020.

  • 2018

    • Ground-Breaking ceremony on APril 24th. The Fortisa 2020 extension Project is officially started.

      Juli 24th.: 2 new external flour silo's are erected. 


Export share

Export share

Fortisa exports 20 percent of all products.

Production

Production

There are 100 million buns produced per year. That’s 300,000 buns a day and 30,000 per hour!

Demand for raw materials

Demand for raw materials

Annual consumption: 4,400 tons of flour, 450 tons of sugar, 160 tons of canola oil (everything Suisse Garantie). In addition, there are 200 tons of yeast and 75 tons of sesame.